Author Topic: Hi, nearly 3 weeks.  (Read 1661 times)

Offline Perle Orestes

• New Members
Hi, nearly 3 weeks.
« on: October 29, 2017, 01:59:01 PM »
Hi all,

I lost my Mum nearly 3 weeks ago. She'd been in hospital for about six weeks prior to her death. We'd been told she had an inoperable tumour about a week before she passed away but that they didn't expect her death to be imminent. So we started to look for nursing homes and planning for her discharge when later that week the hospital called us in because she'd developed sepsis. She didn't respond to antibiotics, and so it was decided that she should receive palliative care and she passed four days later.
I really didn't expect it to affect me like it has, My father passed away 11 years ago and although I can remember feeling very sad for a long time after I coped much better on a day to day level.
I'm not back at work yet, not sure if I can cope with going back this week (I'm a nurse so need to be able to concentrate on what I'm doing) and even just doing something as simple as taking my son to football has left me feeling exhausted. My sisters ( who were closer to my Mum than I was) seem to be coping much better.
I feel like I should be getting on with things now, but I'm so tired all the time and only feel ok when I'm at home, at my mum's house, or with my family. I don't know what to do.

Offline Emz2014

• Administrator
  • VIP Member
Re: Hi, nearly 3 weeks.
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2017, 10:29:00 PM »
3 weeks isnt long atall - such a confusing, shocking time on the grief journey. Sending a big hug  :hug: