Author Topic: Just lost my dad  (Read 3174 times)

Offline Fazzer 70

Just lost my dad
« on: May 19, 2016, 10:26:41 PM »
Hi I'm new to this. Lost my dad 4weeks ago now and feel even worse now the funeral is over. Have to work in the hospital where he died so keep crying all the time. Had to organise the funeral myself so I was really busy but now it's over I feel lost. Everyone is telling me it's because I never had time to grieve and now it's hit me big time. Has anyone else been through this?

Offline Hubby

• VIP Member
Re: Just lost my dad
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2016, 03:32:00 AM »
Hi Fazzer 70. Welcome to the forum. I'm sorry to hear of your loss.

What you are describing seems very common. I used to think that people lost someone, cried for a bit, had a funeral and then carried on. When I lost my wife some people told me it wouldn't hit me till after the funeral and I thought they were mad. I was already upset how could things get worse?  :rolleyes:

Then after the funeral, as people stopped calling round, the phone calls got less frequent and I had more time to think the initial shock wore off and the reality of everything hit me like a sledgehammer. A tsunami of emotions that had me thinking I was losing my mind.

Things do get easier and keeping busy helps but the grief keeps returning often for no apparent reason. I guess it is something we have to work through at our own pace and there are no shortcuts.

Wishing you the strength to cope

:hug:

Offline Joann

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2016, 07:28:51 PM »
Fazzer 70, welcome to the forum. So sorry for your loss.
What hubby describes is very common, I think organising a funeral and sorting things out takes a lot of concentration and you push grief to one side. It is hard once everyone else goes back to their lives and you are left with a gaping hole. Please feel free to talk etc, you will find lots of support.
Taking it one day at a time.

Offline Fazzer 70

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2016, 10:29:32 AM »