Author Topic: I'm new  (Read 2549 times)

Offline Petal

• New Members
I'm new
« on: April 28, 2017, 10:20:21 AM »
I've never written anything like this before, so apologies if I ramble on a bit.

I lost my Dad suddenly and unexpectedly 20 months ago, he was 68. Mum and Dad had been on holiday with us and less than 36 hours after getting home Mum rang us at 5 am and said those 3 words I never wanted to (and will never again) hear 'It's your Dad'. The paramedics were at their house and could I meet her at A&E. Dad had had a heart attack.  We had 11 days of visiting intensive care, he never regained consciousness and after a few days we were told he had suffered severe brain damage. A few days later was told nothing more they could do for him and was time to remove ventilation tube and let nature take its course. He passed away later that evening. Dad had never said he was feeling unwell, he never liked to make a fuss. One of the hardest things I had to do was tell my children (who were 5 & 8 at the time) their beloved Grandad was poorly and then had gone to heaven. My husband was very supportive (he had lost his Mum 8 years earlier). I still cannot believe its happened and he's gone.